Wednesday, 29 July 2015

Prime ministers of India



Narendra Modi is the current (14th) Prime Minister of India, since 26 May 2014.
The Prime Minister of India is the chief executive of the Government of India. In India's parliamentary system, the Constitution names the President as head of state de jure, but his de facto executive powers are vested in the Prime Minister and his Council of Ministers. Appointed and sworn-in by the President, the Prime Minister is usually the leader of the party or alliance that has a majority in the Lok Sabha, the lower house of India's Parliament.
Since 1947, India has had fifteen prime ministers, including Gulzarilal Nanda who twice acted in the role. The first was Jawaharlal Nehru of the Indian National Congress party, who was sworn-in on 15 August 1947, when India gained independence from the British. Serving until his death in May 1964, Nehru remains India's longest-serving prime minister. He was succeeded by fellow Congressman Lal Bahadur Shastri, whose 19-month term also ended in death. Indira Gandhi, Nehru's daughter, succeeded Shastri in 1966 to become the country's first woman premier. Over eleven years later, she was voted out of power in favour of the Janata Party, whose leader Morarji Desai became the first non-Congress prime minister. After he resigned in 1979, his former deputy Charan Singh briefly held office until Indira Gandhi was voted back in six months later. Indira Gandhi's second stint as Prime Minister ended five years later on the morning of 31 October 1984, when she was gunned down by her own bodyguards. That evening, her son Rajiv Gandhi was sworn-in as India's youngest premier, and the third from his family.
Rajiv's five-year term ended with his former cabinet colleague, V. P. Singh of the Janata Dal, forming the year-long National Front coalition government in 1989. A six-month interlude under Prime Minister Chandra Shekhar followed, after which the Congress party returned to power, forming the government under P. V. Narasimha Rao in June 1991. Rao's five-year term was succeeded by four short-lived governments—the Bharatiya Janata Party's Atal Bihari Vajpayee for 13 days in 1996, a year each under United Front prime ministers H. D. Deve Gowda and I. K. Gujral, and Vajpayee again for 19 months in 1998–99. After Vajpayee was sworn-in for the third time, in 1999, he managed to lead his National Democratic Alliance (NDA) government to a full five-year term, the first non-Congressman to do so. Vajpayee was succeeded by Congressman Manmohan Singh, the first Sikh premier, whose United Progressive Alliance government was in office for 10 years between 2004 and 2014.
The incumbent Prime Minister of India is Narendra Modi who has headed the BJP-led NDA government since 26 May 2014.


Prime Ministers

(birth–death); constituency
Term of officeElections
(Lok Sabha)
Council of
Appointed by
1Jawaharlal Nehru
MP for Phulpur
Jnehru.jpgIndian National Congress15 August
27 May
16 years, 286 daysNehru ILord Mountbatten
1952 (1st)Nehru IIRajendra Prasad
1957 (2nd)Nehru III
1962 (3rd)Nehru IV
-Gulzarilal Nanda
MP for Sabarkantha
Gulzarilal Nanda (cropped).jpgIndian National Congress27 May
9 June
13 days – (3rd)(acting)Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan
2Lal Bahadur Shastri
MP for Allahabad
Lal Bahadur Shastri (cropped).jpgIndian National Congress9 June
11 January
1 year, 216 days – (3rd)Shastri
-Gulzarilal Nanda
MP for Sabarkantha
Gulzarilal Nanda (cropped).jpgIndian National Congress11 January
24 January
13 days – (3rd)(acting)
3Indira Gandhi
MP for Rae Bareli
Indira Gandhi 1977.jpgIndian National Congress24 January
24 March
11 years, 59 days – (3rd)I. Gandhi I
1967 (4th)
1971 (5th)I. Gandhi IIV. V. Giri
4Morarji Desai
MP for Surat
Morarji Desai (portrait).pngJanata Party24 March
28 July
2 years, 126 days1977 (6th)DesaiB. D. Jatti
5Charan Singh
MP for Baghpat
Charan Singh (cropped).jpgJanata Party (Secular)
with INC
28 July
14 January
170 days – (6th)C. SinghNeelam Sanjiva Reddy
(3)Indira Gandhi
MP for Medak
Indira Gandhi 1977.jpgIndian National Congress (I)14 January
31 October
4 years, 291 days1980 (7th)I. Gandhi III
6Rajiv Gandhi
MP for Amethi
Rajiv Gandhi (1987).jpgIndian National Congress (I)31 October
2 December
5 years, 32 days – (7th)R. GandhiZail Singh
1984 (8th)
7V. P. Singh
MP for Fatehpur
V. P. Singh (cropped).jpgJanata Dal
(National Front)
2 December
10 November
343 days1989 (9th)V. P. SinghR. Venkataraman
8Chandra Shekhar
MP for Ballia
Chandra Shekhar (cropped).jpgSamajwadi Janata Party
with INC
10 November
21 June
223 days – (9th)Chandra Shekhar
9P. V. Narasimha Rao
MP for Nandyal
P V Narasimha Rao.pngIndian National Congress (I)21 June
16 May
4 years, 330 days1991 (10th)Rao
10Atal Bihari Vajpayee
(born 1924)
MP for Lucknow
Atal Bihari Vajpayee (cropped).jpgBharatiya Janata Party16 May
1 June
13 days1996 (11th)Vajpayee IShankar Dayal Sharma
11H. D. Deve Gowda
(born 1933)
MP (Rajya Sabha) for Karnataka
Deve Gowda BNC.jpgJanata Dal
(United Front)
1 June
21 April
324 days– (11th)Deve Gowda
12I. K. Gujral
MP (Rajya Sabha) for Bihar
Inder Kumar Gujral 071.jpgJanata Dal
(United Front)
21 April
19 March
332 days – (11th)Gujral
(10)Atal Bihari Vajpayee
(born 1924)
MP for Lucknow
Atal Bihari Vajpayee (cropped).jpgBharatiya Janata Party
19 March
22 May
6 years, 64 days1998 (12th)Vajpayee IIK. R. Narayanan
1999 (13th)Vajpayee III
13Manmohan Singh
(born 1932)
MP (Rajya Sabha) for Assam
Prime Minister Manmohan Singh in WEF ,2009 (cropped).jpgIndian National Congress
22 May
26 May
10 years, 4 days2004 (14th)M. Singh IA. P. J. Abdul Kalam
2009 (15th)M. Singh IIPratibha Patil
14Narendra Modi
(born 1950)
MP for Varanasi
Narendra Damodardas Modi (cropped).jpgBharatiya Janata Party
26 May
Incumbent1 year, 64 days2014 (16th)ModiPranab Mukherjee

No comments:

Post a Comment